**PLEASE NOTE THAT THIS EXCURSION IS FULLY-SUBSCRIBED. CONTACT THE WINELANDS SECRETARY IF YOU WOULD LIKE TO BE PUT ON THE WAITING LIST IN THE EVENT THAT SOMEONE CANCELS .**
Kenneth Marcus, a member of the Masonic Craft for nearly forty years who has undertaken considerable research into Masonic history and other facets of the Craft, will provide a brief talk on the history of the Freemasons before leading a tour through Lodge De Goede Hoop, the oldest Masonic temple in the southern hemisphere.
The temple is situated in its own grounds, a few metres to the left of Tuijnhuis, the President’s chambers. The whole complex, including the huge tree next to the fountain, is a national monument.
The building, designed by Louis Thibault and built by Hermann Schutte, has unique features, which includes magnificent sculptures by Anton Anreith.
The Freemasons owned the land known as Domberg, which was subsequently sold to the Lodge. The building was consecrated in 1803 and both the property and the building have remained in the hands of the Freemasons ever since.
Further information available from the Winelands secretary.